Nominate Now for the Zora Neale Hurston Award

Nominations being accepted for Zora Neale Hurston Award

The Zora Neale Hurston Award from RUSA/CODES honors people who have demonstrated leadership in promoting African American literature through projects such as a program, display, collection building efforts, a special readers’ advisory focus, or innovation in service.

The winner will receive $1,250 in funds to attend the ALA Annual Conference, tickets to the Literary Tastes breakfast and the FOLUSA Author tea, and a set of the Zora Neale Hurston books published by Harper Perennial.

To nominate yourself or someone you know, please download the nomination form at

In addition to the form you need to send the following:

  • A nomination letter that describes the project
  • Photos, booklists, screen captures, or other forms of illustration of the project
  • A brief essay—approximately 250 words—explaining how attending the ALA Annual Conference will help further the nominee’s efforts to support and promote African American literature.

– The deadline for nominations is December 15th. –

You can email use regular mail, email, or fax to send the nomination packet to Cynthia Crosser, chair, Zora Neale Hurston Award Committee

Cynthia Crosser
Social Science and Humanities Reference Librarian
5729 Raymond H. Foger Library
Orono, ME 04469-5729
Voice: (207) 581-3612
Fax: (207) 581-1653.

2 thoughts on “Nominate Now for the Zora Neale Hurston Award

Comments are closed.