Zora Neale Hurston Award

Straw House, Wood House, Brick House, Blow

Four Novellas by Daniel Nayeri

author: Daniel Nayeri


Tantalize: Kieren’s Story
(Hard Cover)
author: Cynthia Leitich Smith
illustrator: Ming Doyle



book reviews


The Zora Neale Hurston Award from RUSA/CODES honors ALA members who have
demonstrated leadership in promoting African American literature through
projects such as a program, display, collection building efforts, a special
readers’ advisory focus, or innovation in service.

The winner will receive $1250.00 in funds to attend the ALA Annual Conference,
tickets to the Literary Tastes breakfast and the FOLUSA Author tea, and a set
of the Zora Neale Hurston books published by Harper Perennial.

To nominate yourself or someone you know, please download the nomination form
located on the award web page at [

In addition to the form you need to send the following:

**A nomination letter that describes the project

**Photos, booklists, screen captures, or other forms of illustration of the

**A brief essay—approximately 250 words—explaining how attending the ALA
Annual Conference will help further the nominee’s efforts to support and
promote African American literature.

The deadline for nominations is December 15th.

Please email, fax, or mail the nomination packet to Cynthia Crosser, Chair,
Zora Neale Hurston Award Committee.

Email: cynthia.crosser@umit.maine.edu
Fax: (207) 581-1653