Browsing All Posts filed under »New Books«

Blog Tour: Ask Me by Kimberly Pauley

April 18, 2014

Comments Off on Blog Tour: Ask Me by Kimberly Pauley

Ask Me by Kimberly Pauley was released this month by Soho Press. Aria Morse is an Oracle, blessed—or cursed—with the gift of prophecy.  Ask her anything, and the truth spills out immediately. But Aria’s answers sound like nonsense, even to herself… just as they did at Delphi 2500 years ago.    To cope, Aria has […]

New Releases: January 2014

January 5, 2014

1

If you prefer visuals, visit my Pinterest page. Fake ID by Lamar Giles; Amistad Debut author Lamar Giles takes readers on a wild and dark ride in this contemporary Witness Protection thriller. Fake ID is a compelling story full of twists and turns—sure to appeal to fans of James Patterson, Harlan Coben, and John Grisham. […]

December Releases

December 4, 2013

3

In 2012, I listed 102 YA books written by authors of color. This year, 81. I’m certain I’ve missed some. For example, in September I missed Antigoddess by Kendare Blake. Old Gods never die… Or so Athena thought. But then the feathers started sprouting beneath her skin, invading her lungs like a strange cancer, and […]

November: New Releases

November 6, 2013

Comments Off on November: New Releases

Oh, I’ve thought about blogging. I had a great post prepared last Friday and it disappeared when I clicked ‘publish’. Twice it did. I hope this one saves!! It’s crunch time with BFYA and that is my #1 priority over the next few months. Well, that and the Indiana Council of Social Students and ALAN/NCTE […]

October 2013: New POC YA Release

October 7, 2013

2

I searched and searched until I could search no more! 7 days late, I had to get this up. So, please!! let me know what I’ve missed! The other side of free by Krista Russell; Peatree Press 1 Oct  It is 1739. Young Jem has been rescued from slavery and finds himself at Fort Mose, […]

September Releases

September 1, 2013

Comments Off on September Releases

Zero Fade by Chris Terry. Curbside Splendor, 10 Sept Zero Fade chronicles eight days in the life of inner-city Richmond, Virginia, teen Kevin Phifer as he deals with wack haircuts, bullies, last year’s fly gear, his uncle Paul coming out as gay, and being grounded. Mira in the present tense by Sita Brahmachari; Whitman Press, […]

August New Releases

August 3, 2013

2

August offers quite an eclectic select of books! From Milati Perkins comedic collections by authors of color to Margarita Engle’s story of a mountain rescue dog, this month has a lot to off middle grade and young adult readers! Open life: Riffs on life between cultures edited by Mitali Perkins; Candlewick; August  Listen in as […]

July New Releases

July 3, 2013

Comments Off on July New Releases

July!! I haven’t worked during the summer since the 1970s. I’m pretty sure that having to do so this summer is why it just doesn’t feel like summer at all to me. I keep waiting for… I’m not sure what; just something to happen to signal that it has indeed begun. Nonetheless, we’ve passed the […]

4 New Releases: June, 2013

June 2, 2013

1

A recap of May releases: P.S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams Garcia; Amistad, 21 May How I became a ghost by Tim Tingle; Road Runner Press; 28 May Get over it by Nikki Carter; Dafina Press; 28 May Death, Dickinson and the Demented life of Frenchie Garcia by Jenny Torres-Sanchez; Running Press Kids; 28 May […]